Shinypackages

All the latest and greatest products

FIT IN15: Day 4 and 5 June 22, 2009

Filed under: FItin15.ca — shinypackages @ 10:24 am
Sunrise on the west shore of Lake Winnipeg.

Sunrise on the west shore of Lake Winnipeg.

OUTDOORS

That’s the topic of today’s http://www.fitin15.ca blog post. It took me a very long time to come to the realization that I had an aversion to exercising indoors. It was a lesson that cost me nearly $1,000. How did that happen, you ask. Well, over the course of my life I’ve purchased three gym memberships, each costing a little more than $300. If I amortized the number of times I actually went to these gyms (and one was two blocks away from my house), each gym visit cost me about $112.

With that expensive lesson in hand, I now know that my exercising must be done in the great outdoors. Yes, I know we have winter and it can be nasty but I truly prefer the ice-pellet blasts on a Sunday morning at -30C while playing sponge hockey to 45 minutes inside a gym. Just can’t do it. But let’s talk about summer.

This weekend was spent at the cottage and the excuses for not getting moving get pretty thin. Going for a walk along the lake is almost as mandatory as brushing your teeth, but a helluva lot more enjoyable. Even if you’re not at the lake, a stroll around your neighbourhood lets you find out what your neighbours have been up to in the yard improvement department.

WIN AN IPOD SHUFFLE! POST a comment about the fun, weird, creative, energetic, over-the-top, easy, relaxing or strange way you spent 15 minutes being active today.

SATURDAY’S 15: That walk along the lakeshore on Saturday morning was nothing short of inspiring. I stepped it up on the way back and even got a little sweat going.

SUNDAY’S 15: The photo you see on this post features sunrise on Lake Winnipeg. On the longest day of the year, it happens around 5:15 am. I was still sleeping. But I did get up a couple of hours later, walk to a secluded spot on the lake, traverse a ankle-wrenching arrangement of limestone and granite boulders and do a little fitting on a peninsula of rock that reaches out into the lake. I caught two white bass and one sauger. Then I did 15 minutes of yoga on the rocks. I’m sure the pilot of the Cessna that cruised overhead thought I had my shoe stuck in the rocks and was frantically trying to free myself.

Untitled-1

 

3 Responses to “FIT IN15: Day 4 and 5”

  1. Krista Says:

    I’m currently in the 2nd month of bootcamp and have fallen in love with it. I look forward to waking up at 6 a.m. to attend the 6:30 a.m. class. This morning’s bootcamp however, was probably the least enjoyable one so far. Running in this humidity was not fun and my endurance was tested. Not to mention the canker worm poop we had to lie in to do out sit ups in! The mosquitoes have also decided to wage war against us! Don’t they know we’re workin’ our butts off?! 🙂

  2. Christy Says:

    chasing after 3 kids for most of the weekend was tiring but oh so enjoyable. Kacey was home and my nieces came for a sleepover – between running around, going to the beach and trying to keep little Gracie quiet during church was nothing but pure joy – the best exercise!

  3. Liz Says:

    I joined a personal trainer gym last week. I am enjoying the intense workouts immensely. I’ve never sweated so much in my life, even when I was in Louisianna in July! On my off days from the gym I am getting out for morning walks to get a little cardio in although today’s cardio is going to be cleaning the house from top to bottom tonight. If that ain’t a work out, I don’t know what is!


Leave a Reply

