Shinypackages

All the latest and greatest products

GET YOUR MOTOR RUNNING May 26, 2010

Filed under: Consumer Goods — shinypackages @ 3:33 pm

Men and women both have a need for speed, but what is it about cars that turns their particular crank?

Come back with me to 1982. Imagine a plucky 17-year-old high school girl with keys to a 1974 Cutlass Supreme, blue with a white top. She knew the guys in shops class were busy customizing and super-tuning their Chevy Camaros and Dodge Chargers. She also knew they had a weekend tradition of heading out of town and pitting their rides against each other on a quarter-mile strip of Whiskey Road. The prize was pizza.

Read the full story, originally published May 22, 2010 in the Winnipeg Free Press here.

 

One Response to “GET YOUR MOTOR RUNNING”

  1. wizardofwords1 Says:

    I hear you, Shel! I have to drive with the cruise on. Otherwise, before I know it, I’m going 140 kms/hr!

    I’ll never forget my driving teacher in high school pegging me right from the start. He called me “Lead Foot Herneshen” (my maiden name) and he was right!


Leave a Reply

